My very favorite part of homeschooling is helping one of my children learn to read.  It’s so amazing to see a young child go from preliterate to literate–to watch the world of words and their meaning open up to a child.  Right now, I’m watching and helping this happen with our youngest child so far.  He is nearing the end of 100 Easy Lessons.  We’re also using Explode the Code Online and All about Spelling.  I like 100 Easy Lessons because it helps with blending so well, but I have found that one whole lesson is too much for one day–or has been for most of my children.  His goal for the day for Explode the Code Online is 3 butterflies, and with All about Spelling, we do about 1 lesson per week.

One thing I have found over the years is that it’s best to stop just when you notice that the child is losing attention.  Catherine Levenson said the same in her book on Charlotte Mason.  That way, they learn to use their full attention rather than doing what I do all the time–trying to divide it unsuccessfully.  Also, it makes for a more joyful learning attitude.  This is one of those things I wish I had known when I was first homeschooling my “guinea pigs.”

